Studies underway to add more seats to Ibrox in 2022

I
As you say the only way of solving this issue would be to replace the roof and I dont think that would happen unless we were adding an extra tier to make it worthwhilelong term.

We all want a bigger capacity and in the short term the space between the stands and the pitch is the only option along with Bar72 style behind the goals. I don't think this would equate to 6K though.

How much of an increase do you think that’d give us?

Sounds sensible what you’re suggesting (although I’m not an engineer), even if it doesn’t increase the capacity as much as we’d like as long as it’s not too expensive and doesn’t prohibit future increase. From your pictures of Anfield and OT there definitely scope for moving the stands closer to pitch.

Thank god we have someone who actually knows something. I was told that it was pretty much unfeasible for the corner stuff years ago by Sam Thorburn (my mum was his PA).
It is not unfeasible to do, just expensive for the amout of extra seating we would get. Probably around 2-3k per corner dependant on design. With the Govan truss being the main engineering problem it really only makes sense if another tier is placed on top when the roof is replaced.

A new tier brings it's own issues with supports and foundations and will cost similar to Anfields new stand.

All in all it needs to be done in stages

1. Utilise the space between the stands and pitch. Totals depend on how many rows.
Govan 230 per row 1000-1500
Main 200 per row 1000-2000
Copland 150 per row 300-600
Broomloan 150 per row 300-600
2. Bar 72 style at the Copland and Broomloan upper 1000-1500k

Worst case we would be looking at 3500 and absolutely pushing it 6000.

I remember an article in the Rangers News when the Copland was being built in 1978-79, saying that big Peter McCloy could stay dry at that end because the roof overhung the bye-line.