Rules scenario / query

nasalsinatra

Well-Known Member
Advantage can be played but if that leads to nothing the referee can stop the game, award a free-kick and a second yellow card for the offender which is then a red or give a straight red.
 

The Dude

Well-Known Member
Had this come up in discussion and we never got to an answer. What’s the views / ruling on here?

I’ll stress that I don’t know the answer.
I think the goal stands and it’s just an unfortunate quirk of the game.

Player A (red team) is booked earlier in the game.

Later on in the game, Player B (blue team) is running through and player A wipes him out for a clear second yellow.

However his teammate runs onto the ball, therefore the ref plays advantage. Said teammate has a shot at goal which the keeper catches. So the ball remains in play.

Goalkeeper kicks it out, player A controls it and then scores.

So - if you’ve followed it - a player who should have been sent off ends up scoring a goal and (presumably) being sent off after as the ball is now dead.

Is that the correct ruling?
Yes. The player is still involved in the game until the referee takes action.
 

Valley Bluenose

Well-Known Member
No because the advantage has been played.

The guidance referees are given is to show a red card for a red card decision and not to play advantage.

Because then you can’t pull it back.
Rules extract posted further up the thread. Referee entitled to play advantage for the teammate running through on goal but then has to stop play when the ball comes back to Player A and before he scores the goal.
 

Birkenshaw Bear

Well-Known Member
Rules extract posted further up the thread. Referee entitled to play advantage for Rhe teammate running through in goal but then has to stop play when the ball comes back to Player A and before he scores the goal.
Apologies didn’t read the OP correctly. I’ve got it now.

I really shouldn’t have answered as it took me a few times to read the OP and I still didn’t fully understand the situation he was hypothesising.

Got a mate that’s a ref and he says the guidance given is to issue the red straight away as soon as a red card situation occurs, even a second yellow.

Which would help avoid the chaos that would ensue if the team didn’t score from the advantage.
 

Roscoblue

Well-Known Member
No because the advantage has been played.

The guidance referees are given is to show a red card for a red card decision and not to play advantage.

Because then you can’t pull it back.

What should happen with advantage is when the referee signals it by raising his arm or arms there is no going back, that is his decision in the same way that a whistle would indicate play is to stop. Doesn’t really work that way though.
 

Roscoblue

Well-Known Member
It a good question by the way OP.

The ignorance of the Laws of the Game, in general terms (not this specifically), never fails to amaze me.

With the amount of investment we all have in football, whether financially or with time you’d think supporters would familiarise themselves with the Laws.
 

Sasa

Well-Known Member
This is a weird one, because it happens to be similar to the IFAB question of the day.

My understanding from the post below, is the goal would stand and he would be sent off after the goal. Because the advantage has been played so the referee just can’t blow his whistle and stop the game to issue a yellow card. He has to wait till the ball is out of play.

That happens with any advantage. You see it all the time, the referee runs back to find the player and book him for an earlier foul. But has to wait till the ball is out of play, in your instance, a goal.
Nah it’s been answered with the rules earlier in the thread.

Advantage allowed to continue. Send the lad off at the sooner of:

- next break in play
- next time he actively interferes in play.
 

Birkenshaw Bear

Well-Known Member
Nah it’s been answered with the rules earlier in the thread.

Advantage allowed to continue. Send the lad off at the sooner of:

- next break in play
- next time he actively interferes in play.
Yep I’m half pished and having a bit of a nightmare :))
 

Roscoblue

Well-Known Member
The cautionable offence would be to stop the promising attack, it hasn’t been stopped in that instance. IF the tackle was deemed reckless But advantages played than a caution should still be issued.
 

barcode

Well-Known Member
How about this one? I don't know the answer.

Player A (white team) and Player B (white team) have both been booked earlier in the game. Player A scores a goal and during the celebrations Player B removes Player A's shirt.

Who gets a second yellow? A, B, both or neither?
 

Rule Britannia

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
I’d agree the goal stands. Bit of a bastard if it happens against at you.

However, could/should the referee not pull it back for the foul/booking when the keeper saves it, ie the advantage fails to materialise? There’s arguments both ways in all honesty.
This. The ref should pull it back when there was no advantage and send off the boy that made the foul
 

Sasa

Well-Known Member
How about this one? I don't know the answer.

Player A (white team) and Player B (white team) have both been booked earlier in the game. Player A scores a goal and during the celebrations Player B removes Player A's shirt.

Who gets a second yellow? A, B, both or neither?
Fifa law 12

A player must be cautioned for removing the shirt or covering the head with the shirt.


Under that it would be the player who removes the shirt (player B) as the rule does not explicitly state it can only be for removing their own shirt.
 

Rule Britannia

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
How about this one? I don't know the answer.

Player A (white team) and Player B (white team) have both been booked earlier in the game. Player A scores a goal and during the celebrations Player B removes Player A's shirt.

Who gets a second yellow? A, B, both or neither?
Thats a whole different game you're playing lad
 

Rule Britannia

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
How is there no advantage? x
Because he never scored. The rules of the game define that in this scenario no advantage is gained. As soon as the goalie touches the ball the ref will blow and pull it back. Send off the boy for the foul and award a free kick
 

Every Other Saturday

Active Member
The advantage scenario is over once the goalkeeper has the ball. At this point the referee should stop the game and issue the card if he believes the offence was worthy of a card. Otherwise game on.
 

RTB

Active Member
Law 12 part 3 apparently:

Advantage should not be applied in situations involving serious foul play, violent conduct or a second cautionable offence unless there is a clear opportunity to score a goal. The referee must send off the player when the ball is next out of play, but if the player plays the ball or challenges/interferes with an opponent, the referee will stop play, send off the player and restart with an indirect free kick, unless the player committed a more serious offence.
Somebody who knows the rules stopping an interesting debate
 

The_Irrepressibles

Well-Known Member
Law 12 part 3 apparently:

Advantage should not be applied in situations involving serious foul play, violent conduct or a second cautionable offence unless there is a clear opportunity to score a goal. The referee must send off the player when the ball is next out of play, but if the player plays the ball or challenges/interferes with an opponent, the referee will stop play, send off the player and restart with an indirect free kick, unless the player committed a more serious offence.
Ok that clears it up nicely. Play advatage as theres a clear goal scoring opportunity. Gets shot away so advantage is over. Play on until player A touches ball or it goes out of play, then send him off.

But here's the thing. What defines a 'clear goal scoring opportunity?' Bit ambiguous for my liking :))
 

Crown_Defender

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
Because he never scored. The rules of the game define that in this scenario no advantage is gained. As soon as the goalie touches the ball the ref will blow and pull it back. Send off the boy for the foul and award a free kick

Scoring a goal (or not) doesn't define 'advantage' mate.
 

Roscoblue

Well-Known Member
Because he never scored. The rules of the game define that in this scenario no advantage is gained. As soon as the goalie touches the ball the ref will blow and pull it back. Send off the boy for the foul and award a free kick

The Laws of the Game define no such thing and the referee would not be blowing to pull it back.
 

bluestreak

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
Had this come up in discussion and we never got to an answer. What’s the views / ruling on here?

I’ll stress that I don’t know the answer.
I think the goal stands and it’s just an unfortunate quirk of the game.

Player A (red team) is booked earlier in the game.

Later on in the game, Player B (blue team) is running through and player A wipes him out for a clear second yellow.

However his teammate runs onto the ball, therefore the ref plays advantage. Said teammate has a shot at goal which the keeper catches. So the ball remains in play.

Goalkeeper kicks it out, player A controls it and then scores.

So - if you’ve followed it - a player who should have been sent off ends up scoring a goal and (presumably) being sent off after as the ball is now dead.

Is that the correct ruling?
When I took my badge (and it’s many moons ago) if The Ref was going to dismiss a player he must stop the game immediately and dismiss the player.
 

Let’s Go

Well-Known Member
Had this come up in discussion and we never got to an answer. What’s the views / ruling on here?

I’ll stress that I don’t know the answer.
I think the goal stands and it’s just an unfortunate quirk of the game.

Player A (red team) is booked earlier in the game.

Later on in the game, Player B (blue team) is running through and player A wipes him out for a clear second yellow.

However his teammate runs onto the ball, therefore the ref plays advantage. Said teammate has a shot at goal which the keeper catches. So the ball remains in play.

Goalkeeper kicks it out, player A controls it and then scores.

So - if you’ve followed it - a player who should have been sent off ends up scoring a goal and (presumably) being sent off after as the ball is now dead.

Is that the correct ruling?

goal stands and subsequent yellow and iff
 

Crown_Defender

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
If the player doesn't score the ref would pull it back every single time.

No mate. I mean sometimes that will be the case but the situation will dictate and it's certainly not 'every single time'.

Only way it would be pulled back is if the attacking team are DISADVANTAGED due to the foul being committed. In this scenario attacking player was stopped from shooting/running in on goal by the foul. Second attacking player then runs on to it and gets a shot at goal so essentially attacking team have still managed to do what the foul tried to stop them from doing. THAT'S the advantage. They don't then get a another chance to score just because they couldnt put it in the net the first time.
 

covloyalrsc

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
Not really. That states 'unless there is a goal scoring opportunity'. Seeing as the ball ends up with the keeper because of a shot, advantage was the correct decision and play can now only be stopped when the ball is next out of play.

Goal stands, player is sent off.
Referee can stop the game any time he deems fit. There is many occasions when this happens during a game.
 

Roscoblue

Well-Known Member
No mate. I mean sometimes that will be the case but the situation will dictate and it's certainly not 'every single time'.

Only way it would be pulled back is if the attacking team are DISADVANTAGED due to the foul being committed. In this scenario attacking player was stopped from shooting/running in on goal by the foul. Second attacking player then runs on to it and gets a shot at goal so essentially attacking team have still managed to do what the foul tried to stop them from doing. THAT'S the advantage. They don't then get a another chance to score just because they couldnt put it in the net the first time.

Well put.
 

Rule Britannia

Well-Known Member
Official Ticketer
No mate. I mean sometimes that will be the case but the situation will dictate and it's certainly not 'every single time'.

Only way it would be pulled back is if the attacking team are DISADVANTAGED due to the foul being committed. In this scenario attacking player was stopped from shooting/running in on goal by the foul. Second attacking player then runs on to it and gets a shot at goal so essentially attacking team have still managed to do what the foul tried to stop them from doing. THAT'S the advantage. They don't then get a another chance to score just because they couldnt put it in the net the first time.
I agree with that, but if the referee intends to send the player off for the original foul he won't allow the play to go on once the goalie touches it.
 
change consent
Top