Should Allan McGregor Start on Tuesday?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beer Belly Loyal

Nothing against McLaughlin btw, I have a degree of confidence in him as our No1.

But with Shaggers experience and undoubted excellence over recent years in Europe, especially in last seasons run to the Final do you think Gio may opt for him in goal for the vital 2nd leg game v the Belgians?

I hope so.

Mcgregor needs to be playing constantly to be no 1 at his age hes not a one in one our gk , its a mistake by coaching staff ultimately Mcgregor should have been let go and new no 1 brought in not a second choice no 2
Doesn't need to be playing constantly at all, silly comment.

Wtf has McGlaughlin actually done wrong? He could maybe have done better with 1 goal this season. Its only a maybe as well. So why would he be cast out for a guy who made multiple mistakes last season?

Maybe McGlaughlin isnt the long term solution, but of the 2 options we have, hes by far in the better form

I really don’t think McLaughlin is good enough to be Rangers no1 keeper, when you think of the class acts that have gone before him McGregor, Klos, Goram. I don’t think he’s better than Niemi. As much as I like McLaughlin we’ve not found McGregors replacement yet.

Last edited:
I don't get this narrative that McLaughlin isn't an able keeper. His clean sheet record for us is excellent. I don't recall him making consistent howlers. You could argue he could have done better with the first goal against USG but no keeper is perfect. McGregor conceded many goals last season that you would expect him to save. For me McLaughlin deserves his chance at least to the January window where we can then reassess.

Should he %^*&.
McGregor was finished last season, he cost us the league with the basic errors, bare minimum 8 points.
McLaughlin has done nothing to deserve to be dropped.