Compliance officer

ThomasMRFC

As I’m studying law at college there was a conference on today and one of the people who attended was Claire white (sfa compliance officer) we were able to speak in small groups of 4/5 so I got to ask her a few questions . She explained the process of how the whole thing works. Basically she gets the referees report and then has to decide wether the incident in it was a breach of the rules and if she believes it is then she issues the notice of complaint. She then has to prepare her case as to why the person deserves the ban. She’s basically like the prosecutor in a legal sense and the clubs/players have their own lawyers basically with the defence and as we know it’s then a tribunal that decides. If the incident wasn’t mentioned by a ref then the ref gets asked and if it wasn’t seen the same procedure as above applies. I also asked how she feels about the media attention and when managers slate her in public . She replied saying she just has to believe she made the right decision and has to ignore the background noise from papers, pundits and fans or managers. But she understands football in this country is more important than life and death to some. I don’t agree with every decision she’s made this season but I obv wasn’t going to ask her specifics as she wouldn’t be able to go into details . She seemed pleasant and polite enough but and it was a interesting chat.