John Souttar

Centralbear

I have very little knowledge of his attributes, maybe because of his injuries or maybe just because I pay so little attention to other Scottish teams.

I did notice however a strong performance for Scotland this season, possibly v Austria? which surprised me somewhat.

Very big assumption but if he maintains his fitness what does he bring us?

Strength in the air, ability to play out of defence, can he pick a pass, how error prone is he?

The error bit is particularly in my mind especially after Wednesday, our achilles heel this season and probably most of Gerrard's tenure before.

Also we all see our errors and their importance magnifies them but other teams errors are rarely as important and merit little mention.

Brings another addition to the treatment table beside Helander and Roofe. Guess he will be an option moving forward of playing in a back 3 but he's not anything more than a squad player.

Still an unknown as his exact role at our club. FOr example is he a Goldson replacement which many wont be happy with. Or is he in as our 3rd centre back, replacing balogun. That would be more palatable.
This really is my point, if by some miracle he stays fit, is he the kind of player that could feature regularly and be relied upon. Does he really bring much to the team.

Or does he make mistakes which just gain little exposure?

Or if replacing Balogun is he played before Leon King and blocking his progress?

Another player with a questionable fitness record that’ll end up missing around half of the season

We love players with injury issues

I haven't seen much of the boy, but heard Craig Levien say on radio a while back that he can play at the very highest level. He rates him very highly.

Hardly played recently due to injury again. It’s a gamble.
Its exactly the sort of signing we should never make again because it always works out really, really, badly for us.

Yet, we continue to make them and learn not a thing.